Doug Schmier Named NWPPA’s 2023-2024 President

(Sept. 25) At the Northwest Public Power Association Board of Trustees meeting Sept. 15, the trustees approved a restructuring of the officers after the departure of the former 2023-2024 president, Don Smith. The Executive Committee proposed moving current officers forward and the board approved the proposal. The Officer Nominating Committee nominated Tacoma Public Utilities’ Joe Wilson to serve as secretary/treasurer and the board voted in favor of the nomination. With these changes, the 2023-2024 NWPPA Board of Trustees officers are now:

  • President Doug Schmier, Fall River Rural Electric Cooperative (Idaho)
  • First Vice President John Haarlow, Snohomish County PUD (Wash.)
  • Second Vice President Libby Calnon, Hood River Electric & Internet Co-op (Ore.)
  • Secretary/Treasurer Joe Wilson, Tacoma Public Utilities (Wash.)
  • Immediate Past President Dave Kelsey, Yellowstone Valley Electric Cooperative (Mont.)

Smith resigned from his position as board president after accepting the position of CEO at Farmers’ Electric Cooperative in Missouri.


Download PDF version here