Don Smith Named 2023-2024 NWPPA Board President

(May 22) Last Tuesday, at the 83rd Annual Business Meeting of Northwest Public Power Association in Anchorage, Alaska, the NWPPA Board of Trustees appointed Don Smith of Wheatland Rural Electric Assoc. (Wyo.) as the 2023-2024 NWPPA board president. The board also appointed the following officers:

  • First Vice President Doug Schmier, Fall River Rural Electric Cooperative (Idaho)
  • Second Vice President John Haarlow, Snohomish County PUD (Wash.)
  • Secretary/Treasurer Libby Calnon, Hood River Electric & Internet Co-op (Ore.)
  • Immediate Past President Dave Kelsey, Yellowstone Valley Electric Cooperative (Mont.)

Additionally, NWPPA membership elected the following individuals to the board of trustees for a first three-year term:

  • Michael Darrington, United Electric Co-op, (Idaho)
  • Jessica Matlock, La Plata Electric Association (Colo.)
  • Rachel Morse, Chugach Electric Association (Alaska)

And re-elected the following individuals to the board of trustees for a second three-year term:

  • Bryan Bertacchi, Elmhurst Mutual Power & Light Co. (Wash.)
  • Jonathan Dahl, Wells Rural Electric Cooperative (Nev.)
  • Rex Griffin, Ravalli Electric Cooperative (Mont.)
  • Rob Montgomery, City of Seward Electric Department (Alaska)
  • Joe Wilson, Tacoma Public Utilities (Wash.)
  • Julie Ryan, Aether Advisors
  • Mike Squires, Utah Associated Municipal Power Systems

NWPPA is governed by a board of trustees comprised of member utility representatives and associate member representatives.


Download the PDF version here